Derek Lam – Tasi

I realize it’s been some time since I wrote about a shoe that I hated. Ha what a bizarre way to start this off. Now I am trying very hard to draw a line between shoes that I think are bad shoes and shoes that I just personally would not wear. It isn’t fair for me to spew thoughts on a shoe that I don’t like just because I don’t think I’d ever wear it – some of those shoes are beautiful, just for someone else’s feet.

That is not the case with this pair of Derek Lams.  Alright, so Derek went to Parsons and he worked for Michael Kors for several years before starting out on his own, so what? Lots of people have snazzy resumes! Ok, so maybe lots of people don’t win the CFDA Perry Ellis Swarovski Award for new designers, but still, lots of people wouldn’t have made the mistake Derek Lam made in creating this shoe.  There is too much going on here.  We have a sandal with a chunky heel, studs, wooden detailing, rope, slits, open heel, great height; the list goes on and on and on.  On top of all of it, however, DL didn’t even go for the gold.  If you’re going to create as outlandish and obscure a shoe as this one (by which I mean as cluttered), why make it in such a drab color? It’s skin-tone; do you not want people to notice it? A little too late for that, don’t you think?

I believe it was Coco Chanel herself who hated the over-the-top, saying you should always remove one thing before you leave the house.  Remove these shoes.

Fun fact: I have the things-are-about-to-change jitters.  And I don’t like them at all.

Leave a Reply

