Donna Karan – Black Platforms

It’s a simple shoe. Black, patent-leather, 3/4″ platform with a 3 1/2″, the essentials of any knock-out shoe. With a little twist, this shoe is the classic black pump’s 2010 relative. It’s a little S&M but nothing that any normal girl couldn’t pull off. And by normal I mean classy. Comfortable, I’m sure, but at the same time capable of keeping viewers on their toes (and wearers too, now that I think about it).

It’s like the shoe that Andy Sachs (Anne Hathaway) would have worn in The Devil Wears Prada after her transition; sophisticated and chic but nothing too Avant-Garde or daring. I personally love this shoe and yearn for the day I can prance around Manhattan in my own pair. Until then I guess I’ll have to continue to worship DK and her shoes from afar.

PS – fun fact: Donna Karan and I went to the same high school.

Leave a Reply

